Summer Reading 2015

let's (1)

As a rising college freshman, this is the first summer in years that I haven’t had a mountain of summer work to do. No assigned book to read, no math packet, no massive philosophy journal. For some people, that means an entire summer without the weight of the written word. For me, that means a summer to fill with mountains of words of my own choosing. Here’s what was on my list this summer…

Summer Reading

The Accursed: This Joyce Carol Oates novel comes highly recommended by my AP English Literature teacher. A behemoth of a novel, The Accursed heads to the town of Princeton, NJ to combine real historical figures with supernatural dangers. I’m planning to tackle it this July!

All the Bright Places: A recent YA release by Jennifer Niven, All the Bright Places is a love story similar to The Fault in Our Stars, but instead focuses on themes of depression and suicide. I read this earlier in the summer, and while enjoyable, it was heartbreaking.

Stone Mattress: An interesting Margaret Atwood anthology full of 9 seemingly disconnected short stories. A common thread? All of the protagonists are elderly. A different kind of read for me, but I really enjoyed it.

Vanishing Girls: Lauren Oliver’s latest YA is lauded as thrilling and a bit darker than some of her other books. As a huge fan of hers, I can’t wait to devour this one!

The Sea of Tranquility: One of my book-loving friends had recommended this book to me ages ago, but I finally read it this summer. And I wish I had taken her advice sooner! Please read this exquisite but pain-filled masterpiece of a love story about two broken people.

Saint Anything: Sarah Dessen is always a classic YA contemporary choice, and Saint Anything did not disappoint! Her characters and problems are always so real and believable, which is hard to find in a YA these days. This particular novel stars a girl whose brother is in jail.

A Thousand Splendid Suns: Khaled Hosseini’s Kite Runner is an emotionally difficult but worthwhile book, so I can’t wait to give one of his others a try. I picked it up at the thrift store for a couple of dollars. Score!

Go Set a Watchman: Any fan of To Kill A Mockingbird was thrilled when they heard that Harper Lee would be releasing a new sequel. It comes out July 14th, so mark your calendar to take a trip to the bookstore!

Leave a Reply

